Wet Canvas Silhouettes – Painting with Water

Wet Canvas Silhouettes - A water and acrylic painting technique I made this painting as an entry for round one of the 2013 One Crafty Contest. I’m so proud of how it turned out, and it was good enough to get me voted to the next round! A BIG thanks to those who voted!! Would you believe me if I told you I didn’t use a paintbrush? Ok, so I did use a foam brush to paint the black background, but the sunset was painted with water. What? Water? Yep! Keep reading, and I’ll tell you how!

tree12
First I needed to make my stencils to create the tree and jumping boy silhouettes.  I don’t own a Cricut or a Silhouette cutting machine (oh, how I wish I did!), so I freehanded the shapes on the back of vinyl and carefully cut them out with a sharp scissors.

(The in-progress shots aren’t the best quality since they were taken in bad lighting late at night.  It’s the best time to work, since both of my boys are sleeping!)

Hand sketched vinyl stencils
I painted my canvas completely black with a foam brush, let it dry, and put the vinyl stencils on.  I actually really liked how it looked at this point with the black and white contrast.  The contest required us to feature paint in our entry, so one layer of black paint wasn’t going to cut it!

Painting over stencils
I did a few things to ensure my stencils would come away with clean lines.  I used a credit card to smooth down the vinyl and get all the bumps and bubbles out.  I put a lot of pressure on the edges of the stencils to make sure they really stuck.  Then I painted another layer of black over the entire canvas and the stencils.  That way if any color was going to bleed under the stencil it would be the color that was already there!  This technique works well when you’re painting designs with painter’s tape too.  The second layer of paint also helped glue the stencils down and provided a barrier for the next step.

tree4
After everything dried, I used a spray bottle filled with water to completely soak my canvas.  I was a little nervous about this step not knowing if my stencils would hold on, but they did.  I squeezed my paint directly on the canvas and used the spray bottle as my paintbrush to push the paint around.  It’s amazing all the ways you can manipulate paint with water!  A light misting will blend colors, a sideways stream will move the paint, and a heavy soaking will streak the paint.  I had a lot of fun experimenting with the spray bottle. In the picture above, the paint is still wet and heavily soaked with water.  It took a really long time to dry!

tree5
Once the paint had started to dry, but before it was completely dry, I removed the vinyl stencils. Then I just let it dry the rest of the way. All that’s left to do is hang it up!

Wet Canvas Silhouettes - A water and acrylic painting technique

Wet Canvas Silhouettes

Wet Canvas Silhouettes

Wet Canvas Silhouettes

Wet Canvas Silhouettes

Wet Canvas Silhouettes

Here are some other canvas projects you might enjoy:
The Earth Without Art Wall Art DIY Wall Art- You Don't Have to be an Artist DIY Wall Art- Textured Mixed Media

Remember, if you post about this project, please be sure to give me credit and link back to me or grab a button from the sidebar. Thanks!

Your opinions and thoughts mean a lot to me.  I would love for you to leave me a comment below.  Thanks for stopping by today!

10 Comments

Filed under One Crafty Contest, Wall Art

10 responses to “Wet Canvas Silhouettes – Painting with Water

  1. I love the colors you used to make the sunset. It’s so magical! What a great technique too–I’ve been looking for an interesting paint-resist craft; this might just do the trick with the vinyl!

  2. DONNA

    COLORS,DESIGN,AND YOUR CREATIVITY ARE TOPS…A FABULOUS PROJECT…KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK..

  3. Pingback: On Display Monday Link Party #4 | craftandrepeat

  4. natashalh

    This is so pretty! I love the colors. My man wants to decorate the walls, themselves, when we buy a house in a couple of years. This would be totally perfect!

  5. Pingback: Two Girls and a Party {Linky Party No. 18} | This Silly Girl's LifeThis Silly Girl's Life

  6. This is very neat! thanks for sharing at the Friday Follow Along! Please come share again this week at http://www.leahinspired.com

  7. Pingback: Washi Tape – Flowers, Butterflies, Hearts, and Spires! | craftandrepeat

  8. Awesome Job Brianna! That is quite a beautiful piece of art!!! Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing this at Bewitch Me & Titi! Hope to have you back tomorrow with more awesome shares!

    Hope you are having a lovely weekend!!!

    Hugs
    Cami @ TitiCrafty by Camila

  9. Pingback: Two Girls and a Party Link UpLife With The Crust Cut Off

I love reading your comments. It really makes my day and gives me encouragement to do what I do! Leave your greetings, comments, opinions, feedback, messages, and questions! Want to be notified of future crafts? Follow me by email or social media using the links on the top of the sidebar. Have a happy day!

