DIY Sticker Stenciled Wall Art – Stickers from Oriental Trading Company

The Earth Without Art DIY Wall Art | https://craftandrepeat.wordpress.com
I love this quote, and knew for a while that I wanted to make some kind of wall art with it and hang it where I do my crafting.  I really like the reverse stenciling technique, where your fill color is under the stencil and your background color gets applied around it.  An easy way to do this with letter stenciling is to use stickers.  I really like this sticker pack you can get from Oriental Trading Company.  It comes with 12 sheets of stickers.  Each one has several letters of the alphabet, symbols, and punctuation. They also come with 3 different letter sizes and several styles.  So they are perfect for creating a unique looking quote.

The Earth Without Art Wall Art
The Supplies
1. canvas
2.
stickers
3.
acrylic paint
4.
painting supplies
5. painter’s tape (optional)

The Directions
The Earth Without Art Wall Art
1. Paint your canvas however you would like and let it dry completely. This will be the color of your letters.  If you want each line of the quote to be a different color, measure, and paint stripes.  You can get really creative with this step!  I chose to make mine look like Earth, to match the theme of my quote.

The Earth Without Art Wall Art
2.  Spell out your words using the stickers.  I found that these stickers aren’t very sticky, so I used a hairdryer to melt the sticker glue a little once they were in place.  For stubborn stickers, I applied a really thin layer of Mod Podge under them and around the edges.  I also added some strips of vinyl so more of the first layer would show through. You could also use painter’s tape.

The Earth Without Art Wall Art
3. Paint over everything.  Make sure this layer is contrasting to your first layer, so the words really stand out.

The Earth Without Art Wall Art
4. Let it dry and remove the stickers.  Make sure you pull them straight back over themselves to get clean edges and not straight up or at an angle.

Oriental Trading Company is my go-to place for online craft supplies.  They have over 30,000 products in hundreds of categories.  Besides craft supplies, you can find party, wedding, scrapbooking, teaching, holiday, Sunday School, VBS, kids’ craft supplies, and so much more!

If you haven’t heard of Oriental Trading Company before,  a visit to their site will definitely be worth your time!  Everything is affordable, and they have a Lowest Price Guarantee.
Here are some great links to get you started:
1. Shop OTC
2. Sign up for email savings
3. Request a free catalog
4. Sign up for Oriental Trading Rewards
5. Explore free project ideas

**This post is sponsored by Oriental Trading Company.  I received a gift card to put toward products for review.  No other compensation was received.  All opinions and reviews are written with complete honesty.  The entirety of this post is comprised of my own thoughts and words.**

Here are some other wall art projects you might enjoy:

DIY Wall Art- Textured Mixed MediaDIY Wall Art- You Don't Have to be an ArtistDIY Love Note Frame

Remember, if you post about this project, please be sure to give me credit and link back to me or grab a button from the sidebar. Thanks!

Your opinions and thoughts mean a lot to me.  I would love for you to leave me a comment below.  Thanks for stopping by today!

 

6 Comments

Filed under DIY - Do It Yourself, Reviews, Wall Art

6 responses to “DIY Sticker Stenciled Wall Art – Stickers from Oriental Trading Company

  1. Pingback: Featuring: M! Edition #1 | craftandrepeat

  2. Pingback: On Display Monday Link Party #3 | craftandrepeat

  3. Pingback: Wet Canvas Silhouettes – Painting with Water | craftandrepeat

  4. Love this… I am going to try it. Found you on Show Me Saturday. Following you on facebook now.

  5. Hopping over from Frugal Fit Family.
    This looks great!
    I would love for you to share and link up at my TGIF Link Party. The party is open every Thursday night and closes Wednesday’s at midnight.
    http://apeekintomyparadise.blogspot.com/
    Have a wonderful week!
    Hugs, Cathy

I love reading your comments. It really makes my day and gives me encouragement to do what I do! Leave your greetings, comments, opinions, feedback, messages, and questions! Want to be notified of future crafts? Follow me by email or social media using the links on the top of the sidebar. Have a happy day!

