Sensory Jars

jars1
These fun little jars are so easy to make and provide endless fun for the kiddos! I love how it’s a way for them to explore things they otherwise wouldn’t be able to touch.
From left to right: Rain Jar, Calm Jar, Oil and Water Jar, Look and See Jar, and Static Electricity Jar.

There are all kinds of fun things you can put in these, but I narrowed it down to five jars.  Keep reading to learn how to make these.

You could definitely upcycle water or juice bottles to make these.  That was my original plan, but the water bottles we use have lots of ridges on them.  They weren’t the best for viewing.  I found these plastic jars at Oriental Trading that I just love! They are the perfect size for little hands.  They have that fishbowl effect, so everything looks bigger and more amazing.  Each jar can also tilt on its front.

**While these jars are sealed tight, this does not make them child proof and 100% child safe.  Adult supervision is highly recommended.**

jar3
RAIN JAR

The Supplies
1.
jar
2.
uncooked rice
3.
toothpicks
4. super glue

The Directions
1.
Put the toothpicks in the jar at many different angles. Don’t over pack it.
2.
Put the rice in the jar.  The amount is up to you!
3.
Super glue the lid on and let it dry per the instructions on the glue packaging.

jar7
Let the rice fall through the toothpicks and it will sound like a rain stick! This is L’s favorite one! I dyed my rice to give it more visual appeal.  I used the vinegar version HERE.  The only difference is that rice should be removed immediately from the solution and shouldn’t soak in it.  You could also use colored toothpicks!

jar18
CALM JAR

The Supplies
1. jar
2.
light corn syrup
3.
sequins, shiny confetti, shiny gift ribbon cut into small pieces, and/or small plastic toys
4.
super glue

The Directions
1.
Fill the jar with corn syrup, leaving a small space on top.
2.
Add your items.
3. 
Super glue the lid on and let it dry per the instructions on the glue packaging.

jar8
Turn the jar upside down and watch the items slowly and calmly move through the syrup.  The space at the top will create a bubble that moves through the syrup.  I dyed my syrup bright orange, but you could leave it clear and let the colors of the items be more prominent.
If you’re going to color the syrup, here’s a fun tip: put a couple drops of 2 different colors in the jar and seal it up WITHOUT mixing it.  Let the kids have fun watching the colors slowly mix in and create a new color!  The syrup really slows down the mixing process, so you’ll have fun streaks of color to look at! 🙂

jar4
OIL AND WATER JAR

The Supplies
1. jar
2.
water
3.
baby oil or any clear oil
4.
glitter
5.
super glue

The Directions
1.
Fill the jar about 2/3 the way with water.
2.
Fill the rest of the way with baby oil.
3.
Add glitter.
4. 
Super glue the lid on and let it dry per the instructions on the glue packaging.

jar9
Gently shake and rock the jar to produce waves.  Shake it up to demonstrate how oil and water don’t mix.  This close up picture (click to enlarge) shows cool little ridges and mountains you can make by keeping the jar standing up straight and spinning it left and right a few times.  I colored my water with food coloring.  Since it is water based, it will not mix into the oil. I also didn’t have regular glitter on hand, so I used superfine cosmetic grade glitter that I use to make cosmetics and soap.  I think I like it better that way! This is my favorite one!

jar5
Look and See Jar

The Supplies
1. jar
2.
water
3.
bright, colorful water resistant objects that will float and/or sink
4.
super glue

The Directions
1.
Fill the jar with water.
2.
Add your objects.
3. 
Super glue the lid on and let it dry per the instructions on the glue packaging.

jar10
Use this jar to demonstrate colors, float vs sink, or just to let little ones play with objects they normally wouldn’t be allowed to!  I cut up some kitchen sponges for this one.

jar6
STATIC ELECTRICITY JAR

The Supplies
1. jar
2.
tissue paper cut up into small pieces
3.
styrofoam or packing peanuts cut up into small pieces
4.
super glue

The Directions
1.
Put everything into the jar.
2. 
Super glue the lid on and let it dry per the instructions on the glue packaging.

jar11
Rub the jar on the carpet, your clothes, or hair and watch the items stick to the side of the jar. You might even see some lightening bolts!  Take it in a dark room for an even more fun experience.

Like I said, I chose to make just five of the MANY types of jars you can make. The possibilities are endless!  I mostly made ones geared at young kids.  You can use many mediums to fill your jar: water, oil, hair gel, soap, shampoo, syrup, glue, sand, rice, dirt.. and more.  You could make jars that appeal to other senses, too. What’s that smell jar?  What’s that Noise Jar?  Look and Find Jar (fill a jar with rice and small objects and have a list of the objects to find in the rice).  Density Jar.  Rust Jar.  Holiday Theme Jar. And so many more!

Of course I couldn’t pass up sharing pictures of L loving these jars!
jar12
jar13
jar14
jar15
jar16
jar17
**While these jars are sealed tight, this does not make them child proof and 100% child safe.  Adult supervision is highly recommended.**

Remember, if you post about this project, please be sure to give me credit and link back to me or grab a button from the sidebar. Thanks!
Your opinions and thoughts mean a lot to me.  I would love for you to leave me a comment below.  Thanks for stopping by today!

11 Comments

Filed under Kids' Crafts

11 responses to “Sensory Jars

  1. What a fun idea! I’m sure these could keep kids very entertained! Thanks for stopping by and sharing on our link party!

    Susan
    Fidlers Under One Roof

  2. B. A. Schulz

    What a wonderful idea! I love the bright colors. Looks like L loves them too!

  3. This is such a great post! Perfectly described… I found myself visualizing the effects of each jar as I was reading. So it can captivate both kids and adults 😉

  4. Pingback: On Display Monday Link Party #2 | craftandrepeat

  5. These looks great. I love doing Sensory Activities with my kids. You should come link up at Artsy Play Wednesday (opens every Wed at midnight EST).
    http://www.babygiveawaysgalore.com/search/label/Artsy%20Play%20Wednesday

  6. What a great project. Thank you for sharing this. I have been asked to do some activities with kids and this would be fantastic to do.
    I saw this posted on Homemaker on a Dime , Creative Bloggers Party & Hop.
    Handmade at Warratahstree

  7. when my daughter was younger (ough! this makes me feel old!!) we made something similar with plastic bottles (the small ones), some was full of dreid beans, some with sand… she loved them so much!
    MammaNene

    SergerPepper.blogspot.it

  8. What a great idea! I’ll have to try making some for my little guy 🙂

  9. Pingback: Great Kids' Crafts for Summer Fun | One Artsy MamaOne Artsy Mama

I love reading your comments. It really makes my day and gives me encouragement to do what I do! Leave your greetings, comments, opinions, feedback, messages, and questions! Want to be notified of future crafts? Follow me by email or social media using the links on the top of the sidebar. Have a happy day!

