Book Boxes

book2
I made these lovely paper mache book boxes over the weekend.  For the most part, I’m happy with how they turned out.  If I had had a little more patience, they would be better.  BUT I’m probably nitpicking – a constant problem with a serial perfectionist!

Before Picture
book1
Here’s how they started.  I bought 2 sets of 3 books from Hobby Lobby.  With my 40% off coupon, it didn’t cost very much.  (head over here to learn about savings)
I used 3 different techniques to liven up these books.
I love how the distressing makes them look like old, much-loved books!  If only they had that great book smell!

After Pictures
book11
book3
book9
book4
book5
book8
book6
book2

I’m working on a bigger project of making new nightstands for T and me.  These books will be part of that final project.  I hope my vision all comes together in the end!

9 Comments

Filed under DIY - Do It Yourself, Master Bedroom

9 responses to “Book Boxes

  1. Wow I really loved this!!! So cool idea!

    Thank you so much for linking up at Bewitch Me & Titi, hope to have you there next week!

    Hugs
    Cami @ TitiCrafty by Camila

  2. These are so pretty! I LOVE how you finished them
    Krista @thehappyhousie

  3. I adore the distressed look, it’s got such an old-world charm. 🙂 Wonderful!

  4. Those are nice! They look so well-worn! They would look great in my front room on the coffee table. About the smell of books, when growing up, I would smell the book when I cracked it open. My mom told me that I spent a lot of my childhood smelling the clothes as I hung them on the line and smelling books while I was reading. I so remember that. I don’t smell these items as often now, but I find myself doing that occasionally.

  5. They are beautiful, you did a wonderful job 🙂

  6. they are super pretty ans so festive!!!

    hugs x
    Crystelle
    Crystelle Boutique

  7. Pingback: Two Girls and a Party {Linky Party No. 14} | This Silly Girl's LifeThis Silly Girl's Life

  8. These are absolutely gorgeous! pinning 🙂

    Have a wonderful week,
    Mary Beth

  9. Kim

    I think these came out great! Thanks so much for linking up on Made in a Day last week! I ‘m your newest follower!
    Kim

I love reading your comments. It really makes my day and gives me encouragement to do what I do! Leave your greetings, comments, opinions, feedback, messages, and questions! Want to be notified of future crafts? Follow me by email or social media using the links on the top of the sidebar. Have a happy day!

