DIY Wall Art – You Don’t Have to be an Artist!

photo (65)

I came across this lovely project last year at Two Girls Being Crafty.  Of course, I had to make my own!  Now I get to share it with all of you!!

This is basically copying a really cool piece of art that World Market sells, but without needing to know how to paint!  Really, it’s like a kid’s project it’s so easy!

Here’s the one World Market sells.  Something you’d like to have hanging in your home?  Well, you can! And for a fraction of the cost!!

The Supplies

photo (61)

1. acrylic paint in your choice of colors (I didn’t use all the paint pictured here)

2. 1 acrylic paint pen

3. canvas – you choose the size!

4. round sponge stenciling brushes in different sizes and a large sponge brush (optional)

The Directions

photo (62)

This first part is optional.  I used a large sponge brush to lightly paint over the entire canvas.  You could just leave it white.

photo (63)

Using the acrylic paint pen, draw your branches.  They could be thick or thin, straight or not straight.  You really don’t need any talent here.  You’re just drawing lines.

photo (64)

Dip your circle sponges into the paint and stamp your circles on.  Use more than one size circle for the same color, and let some of the circles dry a bit before you paint an overlapping one. I decided to use more vibrant colors than the original print.

photo (65)

See, wasn’t that easy?  Just lines and circles – a kid could do it!

I love how I could paint this 100 times, and it would come out 100 different ways.  The options are endless!

Yes, I know there’s a big scratch at the bottom of mine.  That’s what happens when I leave it propped up on my always cluttered craft desk.  It’s still waiting for a permanent home.

Happy painting!

2 Comments

Filed under DIY - Do It Yourself, Free Tutorials, Kids' Crafts, Wall Art

2 responses to “DIY Wall Art – You Don’t Have to be an Artist!

  1. This is so cute. It has elements of minimalism and eco-chic in it 🙂

I love reading your comments. It really makes my day and gives me encouragement to do what I do! Leave your greetings, comments, opinions, feedback, messages, and questions! Want to be notified of future crafts? Follow me by email or social media using the links on the top of the sidebar. Have a happy day!

